College Decisions Stress!- Advice For You!

Since this is my first blog post, I would like to shout out to all those who are waiting for college decisions just like me!

We all must have gone through a lot before receiving college decisions. I recently applied regular decision to University of Michigan for Literature, Science, and Art College. From different websites out there, I was told that U of M will release decisions batches by batches. The first batch was released in early Feb, and according to the pattern in the previous years, results will be released on Friday, 11th March.

I couldn’t sleep well yesterday, probably because of all the anticipation, and stress for the decisions coming out. I was expecting mine to be released, but it turns out when I check the email today morning, there was nothing. It felt terrrrrrrrrible (I’ve got to stress out about the ‘r’s cause it really was terrible). As the other said in the websites, the later you receive your decision result, the least chance you would get in. So now, I guess I didn’t get in (?)

I have to admit, I didn’t get a very high SAT score, but it wasn’t bad too. I can imagine the pain for the others out there who are also waiting impatiently for their dream college. Things can get terrible when you have waited for so long just to receive a letter of rejection.

As a person who has just experienced this, there is only thing I can tell you. STAY POSITIVE! This quote actually comes from my friend, and you might think it’s very cliché, but it’s very true. You should have faith in yourself, because you are unique. There are a lot of good things about you that you are the one responsible for showing them out to the admission officers. Scores do not matter MUCH. You as an individual matter the most.

I recently read a blog post about an in-state applicant who applied for U of M too. When he was a child, he painted his whole room blue, and he would shout the slogan ‘Go Blue.’ (In case you don’t get it, blue is the color of U of M.) His dream got shattered into pieces when he received a rejection letter. He couldn’t handle it, but there is one thing he learnt, which is to prove to the college you want to get in that they missed out this gracious opportunity to have such an incredible, and talented kid in their school.

Many people say that ‘you will have a bright future no matter what.’ At first I thought it was a complete BS, because I couldn’t even get into my dream school, let alone getting a bright future of my own. Yet, there is one thing I believe in, not just capital H-I-M, but also in myself. No one knows what the future lies ahead of us, but there is one thing that we know, which is that the college decisions do not change who we are.

So whether or not you got accepted into your dream college, stay positive and have faith in yourself. I have already waited for six months (?) since the registry for the Common Application (CA), I believe I can wait a little more longer 😀

If you got into your dream college, congratulations! If you are still waiting, good luck to you! And if you got rejected, do not be sad or mad, because there will always be another college that looks you differently, and takes you as the special, and unique person as you are. Now if you will excuse me, there is another college I have to wait for – Stanford University! 😀

If you have any problems that you would like to have advice on, feel free to comment below!

Believe in yourself! Have faith in your abilities! Without a humble but reasonable confidence in your own powers you cannot be successful or happy. – Norman Vincent Peale

 

Leave a Reply

