Is GPA fair?

GPA.jpeg

Hey guys, so apparently, if you have followed my blog for quite a while, you should know that I am trying to apply to US colleges as an international applicant. Recently, I discovered something shocking for me, the GPA recalculation in US colleges.

My birthplace has no such thing as GPA in high school, but we do in Universities. In high school, we only have A, B, C, D, E, and F as our grading system. Since my school ranks first in my birthplace, we have the hardest exam papers. So we our score range for A is 70-100, 65-69 for B, 59-64 C, and so on and so forth until you get below 40, which is an F. We do not have such thing as A+ or A-. You either get an A, or you don’t. If the US colleges use our standard’s grading system to recalculate our GDP, we are basically below average, but don’t forget the point that we have the hardest papers in my birthplace. I rank 20/252 in form, and 3/41 in class. I got a C in Chemistry, but in the SATII Chemistry , I got a 710 without studying, so you can tell the difference in the level of difficulty.

If the colleges do make sense, I am pretty sure that they won’t take my grades into recalculation and forcefully give me a false GPA. Yet, this is the only thing that bothers me a lot. When I look at my US friends who study Chemistry, they got As in their transcripts. I looked at their Chemistry paper and it is easy as heck, while our papers are mostly out of syllabus. I wonder if the US colleges will realise that point, rather than just kick me out for getting a C in Chemistry. You might think getting such a broad range for an A (70-100) means we should all get an A easily, this isn’t the case. Only a few out of 252 in my form can get an A in the core and elective subjects. This is what makes our school famous internationally and 1st in my hometown.

At the end of the day, it all comes down to SAT scores. But I don’t know if any other high schools in the US also face the same problem? Like they don’t have an exact GPA? Or they have a similar grading system like ours?

That’s the only thing that is bothering me a lot for my college acceptances. I hope the colleges I applied to will see this problem and not cut me off because of their misunderstanding.

Dear God, if you could read this, I hope you would help me out with the college acceptances. I just really wish I could feel the happiness of getting into one US college. Just one acceptance, it would bring me happiness for the rest of my life. Thank you.

PS. I got rejected to University of Richmond, and I want to remind you all NOT to apply to that college. That college is a huge greed. It only wants money. It literally asked me to pay 70K in order to get accepted. If you applied for financial aid to that college, prepare to get 0 financial aid. I know fund is what most private colleges want, but to give out acceptances according to financial affordability rather than one’s academic ability, that college is nowhere near to be called a college. So just a reminder for you all before you fall into the trap of applying and wasting your 70USD application fee.

Leave a Reply

